The Beethoven Odyssey Part III

Concert No.3 is upon us! Sonata in C minor, Op.10 No.1 Sonata in F Major, Op.10 No.2 Sonata in D Major, Op.10 No.3 The year 2020 marks Ludwig van Beethoven’s 250th birthday. In celebration of this landmark, Juilliard-trained pianist Zachary Hughes will be performing and telling stories about the complete 32 piano sonatas of Beethoven on select Sundays at 3pm throughout 2020 in Greenville, SC. This 13-part concert series will take place on the magnificent 1988 Bösendorfer Imperial Concert Grand Piano at the Greenville Unitarian Universalist Fellowship (located at 1135 State Park Rd, Greenville, SC 29609). GUUF is generously providing childcare during the concerts, and parents can register for a particular concert date by contacting GUUF at or (864) 271-4883. These “chautauqua-concerts” are entirely donation based, with suggested donations of $20 for adults and $10 for students. However, guests are encouraged to give more or less as they are able, so that this music can continue to be shared. In addition to his celebrated abilities as a composer, Beethoven was a superb pianist and improviser, and it is not strange that he chose the piano as a vehicle for many of his most daring and personal musical outpourings. Dubbed “The New-Testament” of piano literature by Hans von Bulow (Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier being the “Old-Testament”), these 32 sonatas were written over the course of 27 years, contain more than 600 pages and 11 hours of music, and narrate the story of one of humanity’s most exceptional and inspiring life-journeys. The Beethoven Odyssey is a labor of love dedicated to sharing this music and telling its story. You are invited to come experience it in person!
  • By cvbizz
  • February 20, 2020
  • 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *